Weekly Workout Diary!

b6600e4086cee9a896f34c518964cfd2

Saturday- Rest…but ran one mile the night before as a quick warm up. Everything felt good and I was ready to go!

Sunday- 13.1 Miles at the Detroit International Half Marathon The first 5k felt great! The rest…not so much.

On Sunday, I managed to make a reoccurring injury angry while running my first Half Marathon this past Sunday. It seems to have been the perfect storm of things I wasn’t supposed to do all happening at once. And then I ran/walked on it for another 9 miles. Awesome. So this week, my workouts have been simple. Rest.

I’ve also spent a good chunk of time this week trying to figure out exactly what it was that I did to myself, and maybe see if there’s a way to fix it. Even if it’s just a temporary fix for another month or so until I can fully rest for a good chunk of time. ITB Seems to me, that it is ITB Syndrome. I’ve read about people with IT band injuries, but really only thought that those were on the outsides of the thighs. And just looking at a chart of it, you’d probably think that as well. But the point of pain is on the outside of my knee and it starts to hurt after running for a few miles. If my foot is landing wrong it can affect it, or if the band itself is tight, it can cause problems.

SO! At least I have an idea of what I’m dealing with now. So I’m going to continue to rest it next week and wear my knee brace when I need to. I also found a video explaining how to use KT tape for this type of pain, so I will probably try that at some point this weekend. Also, as soon as I can run again (hopefully before 11/9 because that’s the next race…) I’m going to go on a hunt for some new running shoes. There are a variety of running stores in the area that I’m going to look at and maybe get a few different opinions to see if there is any overlap in suggestions. I also found some exercises to help prevent and heal this type of injury, so I put in an order for some TheraBands today, so I can get that going in another week.

e31a9352e45f4079e0fc470932a7051b

Hopefully I can get this thing figured out for good, because I’m starting to compile some possible races for next year!

Have a fabulous weekend!

Have you ever dealt with an injury that put you on the sidelines?

Any fun plans this weekend?

8 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Diary!

  1. I am sorry you are dealing with an injury that is keeping you sidelined. Rest is for sure the best thing going on, and I hope that helps you get better. I would say do not rush back into running, because it could make your issue worse and make the recovery time longer.

    For how long have you been dealing with this pain/injury?

    • I’m taking as much time as I can to rest up and I won’t be doing any long distances for a while…like probably spring 2014.
      I’ve been dealing with the knee thing on and off for a long time. It only bothered me, up until recently, when I landed the wrong way while running. Now it’s just longer distance. I found a lot of promising things written about it and hope to get this all figured out asap!

  2. I am very happy you are resting and I would say take as long as you need before you run any sort of distance. I know you said you only have issues when you run long distances, but if your knee is not 100% now it might only be a matter of time before it affects other parts of that leg. We often think of the body in different body parts, but often those different body parts are meant to move as one. When one part is not 100% it can cause issues all over your body, and the areas where you hurt or feel pain might not even be where your issue is. I went to a chiropractor recently for an issue I have been dealing with off and on since 2009, and he explained this all to me.
    When I first injured myself I didn’t take time to fully recover before running again, and I am sure that only made my issue/s worse. I finally went to the chiropractor that I mentioned earlier a couple of weeks ago, and found out my left leg is shorter than my right leg, which was causing most of my issues. Since that first visit I am feeling better. I hope to slowly get back into running fairly soon.

    I did some research when I first got injured and thought my issue was solely ITBS Band related, but turns out that wasn’t the whole story. I would address your issue now rather than wait and take the chance for it to get worse. I would feel bad for you if you had to completely stop running for years like I had to. I think new running shoes would help you a lot, and getting a Foam Roller would be another item I strongly recommend. One thing my Chiropractor has me do is sit on a Tennis Ball for 3 minutes in areas that are sore in my butt and hip areas. At first it hurt like few things I felt before, but now I can tell those areas are loosening up.
    I am sorry for the long post, but reading your post reminds me so much of my experience with my legs/hips/lower back over the last 5 years. I hope something I said can help you. I go into more detail about my injury on my own Blog. If you have any questions or want to bounce something off me feel free to fire away.

    I pray that you get back to 100%, and have a great day!
    Jared

    • I appreciate your concern and advice. Trust me, I’m doing all I can right now to figure this out. I’d go see every doctor available to make this better, but I don’t have insurance or the extra money to pay outright. I have a lot of hip strengthening exercises that I’m going to start doing and I know when not to push it. If I can’t run, I won’t.

      • Welcome and I am glad that my intent came across the right way. I totally understand the money/insurance issue. That is part of the reason I had to wait as long as I did before addressing it., but finally, I had to do something and thankfully had the resources to do so.

        I would for sure get a foam roller and tennis ball to sit on. Both are fairly cheap, but you might need to shop around for the foam roller to get the best deal possible.

        The best thing to do is to listen to your body. Don’t be a fool like I was and ignore it. You have the right attitude and that will help you a ton!!!

Leave a Reply

